top of page
  • Zoe Carciente

Student during COVID-19

I am on a day off today from placement, but it’s not like a normal day off where post school-run I would contemplate doing some exercise and then talk myself out of it, make myself a coffee and get to grips with my final assignment. It feels, in many ways that everything has been turned upside down.


My children are at home, we are day three of home-schooling. My husband is working from home in the area I usually reserve for my studies and we are both trying to juggle housework, making meals, watching you tube videos to try and fix the dishwasher which has decided that today was the day to stop working, children’s school work, his work, my assignment and keeping the children entertained at home which I am sure over the coming weeks will feel like it’s a smaller and smaller space living!




COVID-19 has impacted everything and everyone in different ways. As a third-year student children’s nurse I went into placement not knowing what to expect. I had an idea of the enormity that we were possibly facing with the constant media updates, seeing what was happening in other countries, but as a student, I was unsure of what would be expected of us and whether there would be changes to our schedule. Would we be looking after patients with COVID-19 symptoms? We aren’t yet qualified, yet so close to the end, what would our responsibilities be? Would we be properly supervised?


I am in constant contact with people from my cohort and student nurse friends from other universities and the concerns are generally the same, the current unknown as to how everything will work if we are put into practice earlier than expected and how does that impact us graduating and financial worries.


We all have different feelings towards the current situation and whilst it is not the ideal or even the fairy tale ending to three years of study, I began my journey to become a nurse to be able to help people and this is where my career as a nurse will begin, during these unprecedented and uncertain times.


As student nurses we learn to think on our feet, act fast, making decisions that are backed by evidence. Information is constantly being updated with regards to COVID-19 and being on placement in A&E, I am hearing the constant updates to how we care for the patients, changes in the department to accommodate the influx of people expected to come through the doors.


There was some level of trepidation when I heard that third years will be put on to a temporary register to help in the effort and I was possibly a little hesitant at first. I think part of me was because I was looking forward to having this twelve weeks of being supernumerary in the department where I will eventually be working, but I am working with a team where, however busy the nurses are, I feel completely supported. They find time to explain, demonstrate and teach so that I will learn the skills to care for our patients. Their confidence in me has helped me see that being on the temporary register won’t just be fine, it will be a privilege to be able to work with them and care for our patients.


In these uncertain times, when so many of my friends are now unable to leave their homes because of social distancing, I love that I am able to go out to work and do a job that I enjoy and proud that I will be part of the NHS family through this most difficult period.

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How will I shape the year of the Nurse?

It’s an exciting year ahead for me, I am due to graduate from Middlesex University in the #YearoftheNurseandMidwife as a children’s nurse. Part of me wants this time to speed ahead, get the assessment

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page